Activation of Kratka on HF, 9 December 2012

The summit of Kratka is 7515ft, only a half hour hike up from the Angeles Crest Highway. I took my IC-706 up on a beautiful sunny fall day with temperature 48F (about 10C). Also a small MFJ tuner with 29 foot wire antenna, and a 9AH motorcyle battery. I attached one end of the “long” wire to a natural “Christmas Tree” at about 9 feet, and the other end to the tuner on the ground. Due to the low antenna height, I did not get out too well but did manage 6 CW contacts on 20 meters; I ran about 40 watts. Next time I will have a better antenna, I’m still learning! Several of the contacts I made were with contesters – CQC Great Colorado Snow Shoe Run, and SKCC (straight key) Weekend Sprintathon.  Next time I will look at the contest schedule in advance so I won’t have to figure out the contest exchange on the fly.

N5GW    MIssissippi

NV9X     Alabama

W0CQC     Colorado

AB6WL     Orange County, CA  (line of sight)

WA6MOW     Orange County, CA (line of sight)

PJ2/PA0VDV     Netherlands Antilles

Packing up the station. Antenna wire wrapped around oat meal box
Packing up the station. Antenna wire wrapped around oat meal box
Leave a Reply

