Hoyt Mountain (4404 ft. W6/CT-146), 5 April 2013

This is a nice mountain off the Angeles Crest Highway a few miles before the junction with the Angeles Forest Highway. The first part of the hike is steep with slippery gravel. The summit is well beyond the high point in the picture below.

100_2321

The LA Basin was covered in clouds and it was nice to be up in the sunshine. After the cairn the ridge is pretty flat then rises again.

100_2323

Some lady bugs were warming themselves in the sun after a chilly night

100_2326

View back down the mountain from near the top

100_2328

I still don’t have a fiber glass mast so I used the burned yucca from the 2009 Station Fire as my antenna tree

100_2329

I’m always amazed by how little noise there is on the radio when I am on a mountain top. I always wonder if my radio is really working at first. Called CQ on 40m with no response, then switched to 20m, followed by 30m

20M contacts: W7CNL, WO6M, KD9KC, KT5X, N4EX, K6TUY, WA2USA, W4ZV, W6UB, K7NEW, WG0AT, NS7P, VE7CV, KG3W, AJ5C, KI0G, N4MJ, KQ2RP, W7TAO

30M: K6ILM, Elliot on W6/NC423 S2S

All contacts were CW, I tried a little on 14.346 SSB (there was a net on 14.342) but no luck

100_2332

The first part of the hike down was OK, but the last 500 feet to the road were very steep and slippery. Then I drove up to Newcomb’s Ranch for a late breakfast. There, I chatted with Darren and quizzed him on using the 6800 foot pass between Waterman and Kratka ridges as a way into the San Gabriel Wilderness to get to W6/CT-083 (Point 6340). He felt the south gully down from the pass was doable. After he figured out which peak I was talking about I found that the peak is known locally as “The Volcano” because it is sort of shaped like a volcanic cone (though it is not a volcano of course). Darren has never climbed The Volcano, though has twice descended the south face of Kratka by ski and snow board, making the long climb back up to one of the passes.

The pass is easily accessible by a 15 minute walk from the Angeles Crest Highway, as I found by driving up there. Here is a shot approaching the saddle.

100_2339

And a picture of The Volcano. Its remoteness and steepness is intimidating.

100_2340a

I was pleased to find a rough path down the gully. I descended a couple of hundred feet to check it out, then back up. I think tough hikers may use this as a way to descend into the San Gabriel Wilderness. To get to The Volcano, it would be about 1000 feet of elevation descent, then a half mile traverse on steep terrain, then 600 feet elevation gain to the top.
And that was enough recon for the day!

73
Hal
N6JZT

100_2342

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

