Mt. Baden-Powell W6/CT-004, 9400 ft, 16 August 2013

Set off from home at 0420, along the freeways then Angeles Crest, began hiking at 0625. The trailhead I chose was at Dawson Saddle, the same trail that heads up to Throop Peak.
100_2961

The sun was rising.
100_2965

This time instead of going up cross country to Throop, I continued to the junction with the Pacific Crest Trail. From here, the trail descends several hundred feet to the saddle between Throop and Mt. Burnham. The trail from Dawson Saddle to Baden Powell is 4.3 miles, apparently.
100_2967

Burnham to the left, Baden-Powell to the right
100_2968

Nice forest as I bypass Mt Burnham
100_2971

And nice ridge walk too
100_2973

Rattlesnake Peak (W6/CT-091) down below
100_2974

1500 year-old Limber Pine near the top. I hope it is still here 1500 years from now.
100_2980

Boy Scout monument at the top
100_2983

Today’s operating place. I took this photo after I had packed away the radio. The conditions hadn’t been all that great; the geomagnetic K Index was 4, the A Index was 24. I heard the buzzing sound on 10 MHz that I had heard before when the ionosphere was as active as this. I chatted with a three other hikers, they were on their Friday off from work.
QSOS with: AD5A NK6A W7RV WA2USA W7CNL NS7P KE5AKL W7USA K6MDJ N9KW K6TUY N7AMA W0MNA
100_2985

Heading back, looking towards Burnham and Throop
100_2992

Along the ridge
100_2993

Looking back towards Burnham and Baden-Powell. Climbing up from the saddle only took 15 minutes, much easier than last week climbing back up towards Waterman, which had taken over an hour.
100_2997

Hiking stats: 2h 25m up, 1h 55m down, 8.6 miles, elevation gain about 2700 feet. Took 4 pints of water, drank 2.5

73,
Hal

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Mike says:

    Are there enough trees near the peak for my end fed antenna? I plan on working 20m and would rather not hike up with my Jacklite as the weight adds up. I hiked it about five years ago before I was in to amateur radio/sota. I thought I remember the peak being fairly bare. Thanks

    1. hal90505 says:

      Hi Mike

      Yes, there are enough trees, though the actual summit is pretty bare, as you said. I set up a few feet down the north slope so I could get good coverage to the north and east and north west. I threw the antenna string up in a tree. I also worked K6TUY in La Canada so coverage to the guys in the LA Basin was OK.

      73
      Hal

      1. Mike says:

        Thanks. I have spent a lot of time hiking in the ANF, so this SOTA will be a blast. I am going to Vetter Mountain on Friday if the weather holds. BTW, I love the blog. It contains a lot of useful information. Thanks again. Mike

  2. hal90505 says:

    Glad you enjoy the blog, Mike!

    1. Oleh says:

      The location is perfect for the dipole antenna – steep drop in Eastern direction.
      However, I barely made 4 QSOs on 20 meter band. Most likely, the reason for this was magnetic storm.

      KD7WPJ

Leave a Reply

