Vetter Mountain W6/CT-021, 5908 feet, 27 September 2013

This story could also be called “Too cold for Gleason”. I had intended to ride my bike to Mt Gleason – a 20 mile ride round trip. I arrived at the trailhead WAY to early at 5AM. There was a strong cold wind that sucked the heat right out of me, so I decided I didn’t want to ride my bike directly into that, and not for 20 miles! Moral: look at the wind speed forecast, and start later now that it is not summer anymore.

As I drove back south on the Angeles Forest Highway, was wondering what to do, then thought to give Vetter a try. I had heard this was a pretty easy walk, so might not be too bad in the wind. I drove to Charlton Flats day use area, had a peanut butter sandwich and espresso Clif Shot, then started the hike about 7AM. First on a paved road for just over a mile, then a dirt road for 0.7 miles.

100_3055

It was windy and chilly at the summit. View of Mt. Gleason:
100_3057

I didn’t have my mast, so after some thought I decided to use one of the 16 foot 2x4s lying around. It worked very well! My fingers got chilled putting the antenna up.
100_3064

San Gabriel Peak (left), Mt. Lawlor (center), Strawberry Peak (right). The radio set up is on the foundations of the fire lookout that burned down during the station fire.
100_3070

I heard K6CMG (Chris) on the Catalina repeater, I called him and we also had a simplex QSO on 146.52. Previously, I had worked him when he was on Vetter, and also San Gabriel Peak. Also worked Dan (NA6MG) on 2 meters.

Many QSOs, including GM3YTS (Scotland) and OH9XX (Finland). I could hear both the short path and long path signals of GM3YTS.

2m: K6CMG, NA6MG

14 MHz CW: NS7P AE4FZ N0DA N4EX W7CNL W0ERI K8TE NA6MG KD5KC W0MNA WG0AT N1FJ W4MPS K6TUY N0EVH NE4TN N7CW KI6J WG8Y WA4HMX KG3W GM3YTS K4PIC AA7VW WA2USA OH9XX K9FO W4WWQ W7WM N7CNH VE7KBN N7UN

10 MHz CW: W7RV N6KZ K6EL NA6MG N7AMA W7CNL W7/DL1UF N0EVH WG0AT K6TUY K0YO NK6A KC6SSE

The sun gradually warmed things up. During the operation, two volunteer fire lookouts arrives, they set up at the fire lookout post below the summit. A family of hikers also arrived. Volunteer fire lookout might be a fun thing to do once a month during fire season, there is a little bit of training involved (3 classes, http://www.anffla.org)
100_3072

Easy hike down, this had been a very nice day use area with great facilities. Unfortunately Poodle Dog has taken over making many areas unpleasant to say the least.
100_3079

Don’t know whether to laugh or cry!
100_3080

Pine trees starting to grow back, may have been planted by volunteers with Tree People.
100_3083

All in all, a great activation. 4 miles total, 500 feet elevation gain.

73
Hal

Leave a Reply

