An Autumn Day on Bare Mountain, 6388 ft, W6 CT-082, 15 October 2013

Started the hike at 7AM along Forest Road 5N04, the Little Rock Creek Truck Trail. It is closed to motorized vehicles. The temperature was 30 degrees F, so I had on a sweater, jacket, wool glove liners, and woolly hat

100_3098

Nice walk along the road through pine trees. The picture looks washed out because of the light, but the sky was clear and it was a beautiful autumn day.

100_3099

I was thinking this fire break in the distance is the one I would need to go up. I was right.

100_3100

As per Dan’s instructions, at this shot up rusty sign on the right, take the fire break on the left side of the road. The stream bed crosses the road here through a culvert underneath.

100_3101a

Looking back along the fire break, pine forest in the distance to the right.

100_3104

Looking up to the steep part. The high point of Bare Mtn is visible further along and to the right. Once to the top of the steep point, the walk was pretty easy to the summit. The steep part was OK, a bit soft and gravelly.

100_3105

At the top of the steep part, there is a metal fire break marker post. Then you go up a little bump to the left (just out of view in the photo) then on to the summit

100_3110

Took about half an hour to set up the station. I clumsily stepped on the Morse key but managed to fix it! I had been wondering when I might step on something and break it. I need a system so I won’t do it again, maybe keep everything in the pack till the antenna is set up completely?

100_3111a

Worked many stations, first on 20m, then 30m, then came back to 20m to work anyone who hadn’t heard me the first time. I came on earlier than my designated time of 1700Z, I had miscalculated my zulu (GMT) time in my head and should have declared for 1600 or 1630!
20m CW: N7KRN W7CNL W4ZV (S2S W4C WM 011) NS7P W9FHA WA2USA W0RW N4EX AJ5C KE5AKL NA6MG K5DEZ KG3W W6UB K0YO N7UN W0MNA WK0X N6KZ W0ERI KH2TJ N0EVH/M WA4HMX KC2EE N7WM K6CMG NE4TN

30m CW: W7RV NA6MG N7AMA N6KZ WA6RIC N7CW K6TUY KF7PXT K6EL

The TR switch on the HB1B is rather slow, so sometimes I need a repeat of the first letter on the call sign.

Pacifico Peak (W6 CT-015)

100_3118

Pallett Benchmark (W6 CT-058) on Pleasant View Ridge, with Winston Ridge closer.

100_3127

Down the fire break.

100_3128

A beautiful autumn day. Temperature now 60 degrees, but feels warmer in the bright sunshine

100_3133

Total about 5 miles round trip, 1800 ft elevation gain of which about 400 ft is on the return. Took 3 pints of water, but only drank about half a pint because the day was cool. One and a half hours up, just over an hour down A very nice hike!

73, Hal
N6JZT

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

