Late Autumn on Mt. Williamson (W6 CT-011) 2 December 2013

Was thinking of trying either Mt. Williamson or Throop Peak. When I got to Islip Saddle, Throop looked like it had more snow than I wanted to deal with (it is 1000 feet higher than Williamson). I brought ice axe and crampons just in case.

Welcome to the sky!

Image

 

A bit of snow but didn’t need crampons. Later in the season crampons will be necessary.
100_3296a

Looking up to the summit ridge. I wondered what the white line was then realized it was a snow drift. When I got up there, I found the other side had alot of snow, so detoured left around the south summit.
100_3301

The detour to the left, actually pretty easy. The “summer route” goes around to the right and descends a steep gully about 20 feet; clogged with snow and would have needed ice axe and crampons.
100_3302

Today’s station. I didn’t use the normal antenna tree since I only had a 25 foot coax and would have had to sit in the snow. I selected today as a good day to hike because the day was predicted to be fairly warm. The temperature was about 50 degrees, I think.
100_3303

20m CW: NA6MG(s2s W6/CT244) NS7P WA2USA VE7KBN KF4MH W7CNL KG3W W4RK NK6A AJ5C K9ZMD W4AMW AA5CK(s2s W5O/WI016) KC3RT K0NO
30m CW: W7RV K6EL WA6RIC K6TUY N7CW KK7EL K6DGW N7WM W5WIL

A sandwich during a break between 20m and 30m
100_3305

Will Thrall Peak and Pallett Benchmark
100_3306

Heading back. The snowy side is now to the left, you can see why I wanted to avoid it. To get back, stayed to the left (east) to the saddle, then crossed back over to the brush and boulders of the west side to turn the south summit. Honestly, I feel slightly uneasy being alone on these steep ridges with snow around.
Baden-Powell and Throop in the distance.
100_3311

Now that winter is about here, I think I’ll be doing lower peaks like Occidental and San Gabriel. However, I do plan on Kratka and Waterman. Kratka is not far from the road, and Waterman has a jeep road that is easy to do on snow shoes.

73!
Hal
N6JZT

Leave a Reply

