Riding the New Bike to Little Gleason Mountain (W6 CT-087), 6020ft, 21 March 2014

I went up to Mill Creek Summit at 4900 ft 6 days ago with the intent of riding again to Little Gleason but the wind was blowing too strongly from the North, so I went over to Vetter Mountain for a ride, but didn’t take the radio up. Today was predicted with light winds from the south west, that’s OK; the first 2 miles of the ride are to the North. When I got to the start of the ride there was no wind, yay!

Start at Mille Creek Summit, this rest area is across the road from the start of the Mt. Gleason Road.
SAM_0029

There were many trucks heading up Mt. Gleason road, I think for HV line work. As I rode maybe a dozen pickups and one heavy truck passed but it was OK. Some of the pickups were towing trailers containing fuel for helicopter work, which I could see and hear later from time to time. On the HT, contacted Mike N6MKW who was just heading up Mt Emma W6 CT-029.

SAM_0030a

A beautiful morning, sunny and cool.
SAM_0032a

Up the paved road for five and a half miles, then the dirt road another half mile to the summit. Had to push quite a bit up the steep dirt road like last time. It was even harder as the rain a few weeks ago had formed channels in the road.

Looking back at a fallen burnt Coulter Pine, which I went around. I could see that 4WD vehicles used to service the microwave station had also gone around through the vegetation!
SAM_0038

At the top, worked Mike again on the HT, he had just got to the summit so we had a good s2s contact. Set up the mast and attached it with velcro to a small post.
SAM_0033

Started on 20m, then to 30m, then 2m and back to 20m. When I went back to 20m I heard NM5S just starting his activation so that was a good QSO!

2m FM: N6MKW, KA6AIL
20m CW: N7WM W0MNA W0ERI W7CNL VE7KBN NS7P K9ZMD NA6MG W7OIL K0YO K6TUY NE4TN N1EU K7NEW AA5CK WI2W NM5S(s2s W5N SE-011) K7SO
30m CW: W7RV K7NEW W7USA KB7HH N6GA K6TUY WB5USB

After I had packed up I worked Bob KB6CIO on the Catalina repeater, he told me Martin WN6E was on the air with a first activation of Frankish Peak W6 CT-151. Dang! I should have called Bob when I still had the HF set up. We tried 2m simplex but no go since no line of sight. Oh well, better luck next time.

Isn’t a bicycle a great piece of technology?
SAM_0036

73!
Hal
N6JZT

2 Comments Add yours

  1. RN3ANT says:

    Excellent photos! Thanks for stories!
    “Isn’t a bicycle a great piece of technology?” — Yes, it is! ))
    Good luck and have fun with bike and radio!

Leave a Reply

