Bike Ride to Josephine Peak (W6 CT-025), 5558 ft, 8 August 2014

I was thinking of hiking Timber Mountain over by Mt Baldy. However, this past weekend there was severe flooding over there so I will wait a while. I hadn’t been to Josephine Peak before, and it is only an hour’s drive from my house. Plus it is a bike ride. The three “Strawberry” mountains – Josephine, Strawberry Peak, and Mt Lawlor are now open after having been closed 5 years due to the station fire. I hiked Lawlor the day it opened a few months ago! Close by are Occidental Peak and San Gabriel Peak so we have some nice mountains all pretty near each other.

I parked in a gravel area off the Angeles Forest Highway above the Clear Creek USFS fire station. Started along the Josephine Road about 0600. The road is down the AFH a hundred yards on the right.

The road is pleasant and hard packed
SAM_0317

I ended up riding about half the time, pushing half the time. My legs were OK, but my cardio is a bit weak not having ridden for a while. I found as the hike progressed I could ride steeper and steeper sections. Reached Josephine Saddle after about an hour.

“I ride my bike I roller skate don’t ride no car. Don’t go too fast but I go pretty far.”
SAM_0323

Iron Mountain #2 far left, Mt Gleason the big lump right of center
SAM_0325

Near the top. You can see some of the gear at the summit. There is a small microwave tower, and a USFS webcam that Bryan N0BCB installed in 2013. ( http://www.fsvisimages.com/fstemplate.aspx?site=saga2 ) The road doesn’t go all the way to the top, it ends maybe 50 feet down from the summit.
SAM_0327

View towards Mt Lukens
SAM_0332

A nice operating site. Dipole was oriented roughly E-W.
SAM_0328

Soon after getting to the top worked Mike N6MKW who had ridden his bike up Mt Pacifico CT-015. Then a few more 2m contacts, including Jeff K6QCB on Jurupa Peak CT-212. On the 2m HT, there was a high noise level unless I shielded the radio from Mt Wilson.

2m FM: N6MKW KM6CEM AG6ZR K6QCB

30M CW: W7CNL W7RV K1JD N7CW W0MNA W0ERI K7ZX

20M CW: K2JB NE4TN NS7P N4EX KG3W W7CNL N0OI AE4FZ K1JD

As I was packing up three more hikers arrived and we chatted a while.

Then down, a breeze on the bike. Looking back up the road near the top
SAM_0338a

Strawberry Peak. Hope to hike this peak in the next few months, when the weather gets cooler.
SAM_0343

Good road. I noticed that the wheel rims got pretty hot due to braking. I’ve read that the tube may fail if the rim gets too hot.
SAM_0346

Fire fighters’ memorial. For the 19 fire fighters lost in Arizona
SAM_0349

The temperature had been about 65F when I started, and 80F when I returned. Drank 3 pints of water. About 4 miles each way with about 1800 feet elevation gain.

73!
Hal
N6JZT

 

Another Josephine activation:
https://halssota.wordpress.com/2015/02/26/a-little-snow-on-josephine-peak-w6-ct-025-5558-ft-26-feb-2015/

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jeff Widen says:

    It’s nice to have these activation reports. It’s a good record for future reference.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

