Hoyt Mountain, 4402 ft (W6 CT-146) 29 August 2014

Got up to the area in the dark, so I enjoyed the stars in the dark sky near Switzer picnic area before heading back a few miles to the trail head as the sky lightened. Started the hike at 0530 with my head lamp for a little while until it got light enough to see without it. Took about 45 minutes to get to the top.

Condor Peak
SAM_0411

Set up the mast and 2 meter J-pole and worked Kenan KR6J who was mobile. I put out a call for Bob KB6CIO on the Catalina Repeater, and it was a nice surprise that he came back, he was helping some people in Palos Verdes with geocaching. We moved to simplex, then also worked Neil K6KWI. Then set up for HF.

Yucca
SAM_0412

Though I was told later that the K and A indices were very high, conditions on 20m and 30m were good at this early hour and made lots of QSOs.

2m FM: KR6J KB6CIO K6KWI W6MTM NA6MG KM6CEM

20m CW: W0MNA W4DOW W0ERI N4EX NA6MG K4PIC NE4TN N0EVH K6TUY WA8REI NE1SJ(S2S W3/PO-001) N4MJ VE2JCW K0LAF

30m CW: NS7P W7CNL WA2USA/0 K6TUY WB5BKL

The activation was a pleasant one, the temperature was about 75 degrees with a slight cooling breeze, then starting to get hot when I left at around 0900.

Yep, I know, I know, but the boulders don’t care if I need a level one on which to put the camera…
SAM_0417

I then headed to Aliso Canyon and Aliso Arrastre Cutoff Road to have a look at a mountain (Peak 3819 as marked on the old paper topos) just south of Peak 3788 CT-167. The US Geological Service National Map shows it has a prominence of  520 feet so we need to make this a SOTA peak. If you take its spot height of 3819 feet and go to the nearest 40 foot topo contour of 3320 feet you get 499 foot prominence, which is incorrect; the low prominence is just an artifact of the 40 foot contour interval on US topo maps. The USGS National Map uses the National Elevation Dataset (NED) which includes all available measurements. BTW, List of John says prominence is 519 feet http://www.listsofjohn.com/searchres?textsearch=3819&Search=Name&State=CA

The peak from Aliso Canyon Road
SAM_0424

US Geological Service National Map shows summit as 3818 feet.
http://viewer.nationalmap.gov/viewer/?q=34.43718,-118.16248
Peak 3819 summit
Map courtesy of the U.S. Geological Survey

Key Saddle is 3298 feet. Note the nifty tool for determining elevations. Horizontal granularity is 1/3 arc second: about 35 feet
Peak 3819 Saddle
Map courtesy of the U.S. Geological Survey

At the saddle, looking west
SAM_0431

And looking east from the Saddle. I have other photos looking in different directions, the terrain looks as you would expect from the maps.
SAM_0432

GPS position on the tablet. GPS elevation tends to wander around some, and I don’t know what vertical datum it uses. The USGS uses NAVD 88.
SAM_0429

National Elevation Dataset FAQs may be found at http://ned.usgs.gov/faq.html
NED versus Space Shuttle’s lower accuracy measurements may be found at http://ned.usgs.gov/faq.html#SRTM

I then went over to Blum Ranch and bought 50 pounds of peaches for 16 dollars. They were seconds so they were cheap. When I got home I peeled 10 and made a peach pie! Today I made another peach pie. I have a lot of peeling ahead of me; I will freeze most of then after I peel and chop them up.

73!
Hal
N6JZT

Leave a Reply

