Parker Mountain (W6 CT-153), 4131 ft, 7 October 2014

Parker Mountain is just north of Acton, in what I call the “Mt Gleason group”. It is near Peak 3788 W6/CT-167 and Blum Ranch. To get there I went north on Angeles Forest Highway and Aliso Canyon Road, left on Soledad Canyon, very sharp right on Crown Valley Road, left on Escondido Canyon, left on Hubbard, then left on Hughes Canyon. The road is smooth and becomes quite steep and you are warned to go into low gear NOW. Then left onto unmarked and rutted Parker Mountain Road for which a high clearance vehicle is needed, with 4WD if you want to keep going up further. My Cherokee is only two wheel drive so I stopped and parked after 0.1 mile. Mike N6MKW on the previous activation  was braver and went up 0.6 miles in his 2WD Toyota truck, Dan NA6MG has been further still in his 4WD Cherokee. I am sensitive to the fact that “two wheel drive” is really “one wheel drive” unless you have a limited slip differential. I found this out the hard way 35 years ago in the Shetland Islands; I tried to turn around on a narrow track. One rear wheel went in the bog but the other stayed on solid ground. The wheel in the bog spun merrily while the other on solid ground did nothing at all… So I had to get a friend to come and tow me out with his Land Rover!

View towards Parker Mountain soon after I started the hike
SAM_0543a

You can go up steep parts (that people 4 wheel on!) or just follow the road. I went up the steep parts, it took 45 minutes to get to the top. I think if I go again I would just follow the road all the way since it is less steep.

View looking back north from the final steep pitch. Sierra Pelona ridge W6/CT-116 in the distance.
SAM_0545

View south from the top. Snow Benchmark (W6 CT-121) left and Magic Mountain (with antennas towers) right. Though the latter is not a SOTA peak, I would like to ride my bike up there and see the old rocket engine test cells; the now defunct Marquardt Corporation had a test facility there for many years.
SAM_0550

I worked on 20m CW and 30m CW. The site is not real great for 2m work since there are quite a few higher mountains around, but worked Richard WA6KYR on 2m FM and 20m CW. Signals were strong on HF and it was a very pleasant activation. I was pleased to hear Bob KB6CIO on CW for our first CW QSO; he usually operates SSB.

20m CW: WA6KYR N7KRN N4MJ VE2JCW KG3W WA2USA NA6MG W7RV N7UN K0LAF WA6RIC WK0X W6UB K8LJG NE4TN W7CNL W0RW/M N4EX

30m CW: K6EL WA6RIC W7CNL W7RV NA6MG KB6CIO W7USA NK6A K6TUY

2m FM: WA6KYR

Set up on the old fire tower foundation. There was a lot of debris from people shooting guns up here.
SAM_0551

Magic Mountain and cone-shaped Peak 4054 W6/CT-156
SAM_0554

Took the jeep road down. This would be a good mountain to do by mountain bike. I noticed many hardy evergreen shrubs. They are California Juniper.
SAM_0556

Approaching the Jeep
SAM_0560

On the way back, stopped in at Blum Ranch and picked up 5 pounds of pears. Peach season is over and pretty soon pear season will be over too.

Stats: 1.5 miles and 750 ft elevation gain up, 45 minutes. 30 minutes down. Temp was 82F back at the Jeep.

73!
Hal
N6JZT

2 Comments Add yours

  1. K6TW says:

    Did you make pear cobbler? 🙂

    1. hal90505 says:

      No, but I could try! On Huell Howser he went to where they made pear pie!

Leave a Reply

