Hollywood! Cahuenga Peak (W6 CT-037) 1820ft, 19 Dec 2014

Another nice little peak, best to do in the cool “rainy” season here. Up the Harbor Freeway (the “110”) and then the Hollywood Freeway (the “101”), exit towards Barham, along Cahuenga Blvd then right on Barham Blvd, then right on Lake Hollywood Drive. Follow this and park at the corner of Lake Hollywood and Wonder View.

SAM_0807d

Walk up Wonder View…a typical Sothern California winter day, sunny (albeit with clouds later) and about 60 degrees F at about 9:15 AM.
SAM_0808d

The trail is straightforward, but steeper than I expected and eroded and somewhat rocky
SAM_0812d

Views of Verdugo (nearest “ridge”), Mt Lukens in the center. Just to the left of Mt. Lukens I noticed I could see Condor Peak peaking over.
SAM_0813d

At the summit, got on 2m and talked with Chris K6CMG, then Ken KN6CCW summit to summit on W6 CT-125 Harrison Peak. A few more 2m contacts as I set up for 17m. I had brought the IC-706 and the 20AH Li battery so I could operate 50W SSB for practically as long as I wanted. I operated about 30W on CW.

The station with San Gabriel Peak and the other peaks around Mt Wilson in the distance
SAM_0815d

Charles KM6CEM spotted me for 18.150 MHz SSB and I got busy…today I made 52 QSOs, a record for my SOTA activations. Most on 17m, then went to 30m CW and finished on 20m CW. Even made a cross-mode contact with KG3W while I was on 17m SSB, he called me on CW. During the activation about a dozen hikers trickled by on their way to get as close to the Hollywood sign as possible. Some were curious so I talked about ham radio with them.

2m FM: K6CMG KN6CCW NK6A KM6CEM K6QCB NA6MG KI6FPJ
17m SSB: KF5AIE KC0OGH K6TUY KD0PLH W7CNL KI4SVM (S2S W4C US-001) W0MNA W0ERI KB1RJD KA5PVB N4EX KB1RJC KK4EUN AC2KL W4MPS NE4TN K9NSE KD0TLX KF7JQV N7ENL CU3BL WB5USB KG3W(CROSS MODE cw/ssb) KB6CIO AE7AP AA0LV AE4FZ KB5AVB W4DOW KQ6P NM5SW
30m CW: W7RV W7USA K7JFD AE9F K6EL K8TE WA7JTM KI0SK
20m CW: K8LJG N4MJ KE6RS KF7WNS WB5USB N0EVH K0LAF

My first SSB contact with W4DOW, in the past it has been CW so was nice to hear his voice for the first time! Also, I think it’s been almost two years since I worked Herm and Merle, KB1RJC and KB1RJD in New Hampshire…I think it was my snow shoe activation of Kratka Ridge in early 2013. KM6CEM, W7CNL, AE9F, KK4EUN and KQ6P spotted me at various times throughout this rather long activation.

Griffith Observatory; memorable scenes with James Dean (Rebel Without a Cause) and Arnold Schwarzenegger (Terminator) were filmed there. It is also nice to visit the exhibits and planetarium there!
SAM_0818d

On the way down, the “Wisdom Tree” in the distance
SAM_0822d

Other hikers
SAM_0823d

The Wisdom tree. There were some metal chests with registers there but they were open; much of what was inside was soaked. So much for wisdom, I guess.
SAM_0824d

Lake Hollywood
SAM_0825d

Looking back, radio facility, Griffith Observatory on ridge (center) and downtown LA in the distance (right)
SAM_0826d

Almost down. Universal Studios
SAM_0829d

Drove home a different way. Left on Barham to the Hollywood Freeway looked very crowded, so went right on Barham to Forest Lawn, passed by Warner Brothers studios, then the 134 and 2 freeways back towards downtown LA.

The hike is about 1.5 miles each way, about 900 feet elvation gain.

Thank you chasers and spotters!
73!
Hal
N6JZT

One Comment Add yours

  1. km6cem says:

    i like to do this one some time in the new year

Leave a Reply

