Another Winter on Kratka Ridge (W6 CT-014), 7515 ft, 9 January 2015

Kratka is the easiest of the “high country” peaks for me to do in the winter; it is an easy hike above Angeles Crest Highway. The weather was predicted cloudy but not too cold. We had last been to the base of Kratka on Christmas Day – at that time the temperature was a chilly 26F (-3C), sunny and windy.

Today, I brought snow shoes, crampons and an ice axe but didn’t need any of them since there was much less snow than I thought there might be. The snow that there was was partially frozen and was a good surface to walk on.

Not much snow today
SAM_0892d

Also little snow around the summit
SAM_0894d

The temperature was about 40F (5C). I was warm from the hike but got progressively chilled over the next hour and a half at the summit, since there was little sunshine through the clouds. I was wearing a wool shirt, two light pile jackets, and a goretex jacket. Also jeans and wind proof over-trousers, plus my snow boots. Wool gloves.

First I set up the 20m dipole, then put up the 2m j pole and made some nice FM contacts. Switched to 20m CW, propagation to the SE US was very good and signals were very strong. Then to 30m (Elliot K6EL was s2s on Mt Davidson), and back to 20m to work Dennis WA2USA summit to summit on Worthington Knob in Tennessee. I’m happy there is so much 2m simplex activity now. When I first took my HT to Kratka in late 2012 (my first ever SOTA activation) I only managed to work two stations.

2m FM: KI6UCN KK6EHQ KN6CCW K6QCB KW6ACK KM6CEM KB6CIO
20m CW: N0EVH N4MJ N4EX K8TE W6UB NK6A KE5AKL NE4TN W0MNA W4DOW W0ERI NS7P K4PIC AE5B W6IYS AE4FZ N7CNH K0LAF WA2USA
30m CW: W7RV W7USA K6EL K6TUY

Looking wintry to the east
SAM_0897d

Twin Peaks W6 CT-064. Hiking this in the winter is not a good idea, at least by yourself. A bad slip during the descent on the snow/ice could lead to a very cold night.
SAM_0896d

The intermediate ski run from near the top. The ski area has been defunct for 13 years, since the lift house and restaurant burned in a fire. The pine trees are taking over. I used to ski here, and enjoyed it very much. I suppose if I had hiked up this route I could have used my snow shoes. Miriam and I hiked up this way on Good Friday in 2008.
SAM_0898d

I stopped at Newcomb’s Ranch for a nice late breakfast about 1030! That sure warmed me up.
SAM_0904d

73!
Hal
N6JZT

One Comment Add yours

  1. Great activation, great breakfast picture 🙂

Leave a Reply

