Mt. Lawlor (W6 CT-089) 5957 ft, 7 March 2015

A nice moderate hike today. About 3 miles each way with 1300 ft elevation gain. Started at 0620, temperature 52F (11C).

San Gabriel Peak (W6 CT-019) across the way to the south, with snow still on its north face
SAM_1006d

Reached the saddle after an hour. Mt Pacifico (W6 CT-015)
SAM_1007d

Strawberry Peak (W6 CT-018)
SAM_1008d

Then up the ridge, reaching the top in another 40 minutes
SAM_1010d

First a QSO on 2m, then 20m and 30m, followed by 2m. I discovered the “secret” to operating with strong RFI and resulting intermod from Mt Wilson. I had assumed that the Yaesu VX6 HT did not have a front end attenuator, but it does! So I switched it on through the menus and was able to get rid of the nasty intermod noise. I assume the attenuator reduces sensitivity by 10 dB, but that is better than much more desens by the TV transmissions. I found I could even operate with the J-pole, so I was able to put out a good signal, and still receive pretty well too.

log

The descent, this is some of the scrambling. Below you can see a ridge to the left. You start along this but after the white rocks you turn sharp right.
SAM_1013d

Turn sharp right! A path continues on to the left but degenerates into bush whacking. This is where I made my mistake last May. The point is now well ducked, I added a fourth duck to the correct path.
SAM_1014d

A little snow here and there in the shade
SAM_1017d

As I was going down, I met a dozen or so people coming up to hike Strawberry Peak

Mt Blady (W6 CT-003) in the distance
SAM_1019d

73!
Hal
N6JZT

Previous activation here:

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2014/05/25/five-years-after-the-station-fire-mt-lawlor-w6-ct-089-5957-ft-24-may-2014/

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

