Mt Pacifico (W6 CT-015) 7124ft, 1 May 2015

Previous activations are described here:

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/mt-pacifico-by-mountain-bike-7124-ft-w6ct-015-3-may-2014/

and

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/pacifico-mountain-7200-feet-w6ct-015-cool-morning-and-baked-on-the-descent-25-july-2013/

This was another mountain bike ride. I found that Sulphur Springs Road to the trail head is being resurfaced, more about this later…most of the resurfacing has been completed.

Started at 0630 and had a nice ride up, took one and three quarters hours, the final mile mostly pushing up the steeper road to the top.

Mt Gleason (W6 CT-017) in the background
SAM_1161d

2 meter set up with j-pole on the mast. It was colder than I thought it would be so I wore three layers under a windproof jacket, luckily I was sheltered from the light wind.
SAM_1162d

Worked Charles KM6CEM on 2m, then KB6WWI. Then set up for HF. Didn’t seem to get out as well as usual on HF, maybe my antenna was too close to the pine tree.

2m FM: KM6CEM KB6WWI N6MKW (S2S on Smith Mtn CT-120)) NA6MG K6TW KK6RHP KR6RG
20m CW: NE4TN NS7P K4MF N7CW NA6MG N9KW VE2JCW NM5S K7ZO NK6A K6TUY WA9STI KG3W WG0AT NU7A
30m CW: W7RV WB5USB K6TUY

For my latter 2m QSOs, moved up to the summit rocks with the j-pole to get better line of sight to the LA basin to the south. Worked Dan NA6MG, Tim K6TW in my home city of Torrance, and Roy KR6RG near the Mexican border; I had worked him from Mt Baldy last summer, and also from my garage(!) QTH the other day. Roy has a 17 foot vertical for 2m and is up a couple hundred feet.
SAM_1163d

Headed down, the easy part on the bike!
SAM_1167d

Pleasant View Ridge and Pallett Benchmark (W6 CT-058)
SAM_1165d

SAM_1171d

Got back to the Jeep and headed back along the road…almost to the Angeles Crest Highway and: the road crew was resurfacing Sulphur Springs Road. The roller drive asked that I go back to a dirt road to get back out to the ACH. He gave me directions, but suggested I stop at the Angeles Crest Christian camp to get better directions. So I did!

Angeles Crest Christian Camp
SAM_1172d

Here I found Brian in the office, and he kindly directed me to USFS road 3N14. This was back further almost to where I began my ride up Pacifico on 3N17. The road was easy to find, nice to see a road that is open and not  closed by a gate! The road was narrow and scenic, not too rough and could be done by any two wheel drive vehicle.

The sign says “Road Narrows”
SAM_1173d

Looking across the valley to Pacifico
SAM_1176d

The 3N14 road finally comes out through the Chilao visitors center/picnic area, after passing by the Chilao USFS ranger station

73!
Hal N6JZT

One Comment Add yours

  1. k6cmg says:

    I am going to have to look into getting a mtn bike and ad it to my SOTA gear. I can see how it is really helpful in your activations.

Leave a Reply

