Another beautiful day walking in the sky: Mt Williamson (W6 CT-011) 8248 ft, 3 June 2015

Again, one of my favorites. Above the Angeles Crest Highway. Started the hike at 0630 up the west trail: the shady side in the morning. Dan NA6MG was planning on being on Mt Islip (W6 CT-010), a few miles away to the south.

LA Basin covered by the marine layer again
SAM_1267

Nice hike up, worked Dan for the first time when I was about half an hour from the top. He was already at the summit of Islip.

First a 2m summit to summit QSO with Dan. Then spent half an hour putzing about trying to get a site out of the light wind. I am getting too picky! Finally set up here
SAM_1270

I set up the 20m dipole, and hung the 2m j-pole in a tree so I could work both at the same time if needed.
The j-pole is so much better than the rubber duck on the HT, I really enjoy 2m SOTA now!

20m CW: N4EX N7AMA K8TE K7TQ NK6A K7ZO W0MNA K0LAF W0ERI NA6MGNS7P K9FO
30m CW: W7RV AE9F
2m FM: NA6MG WA6FMZ KN6KS KM6CEM N6HEG KJ6NAL KJ6TOA (San Diego) KK6UDI WB6POJ KE6QBV

Was the first simplex contact for Dan KK6UDI. I could hear Sandy’s KJ6NAL grandchild playing in the background!
30m was weaker than usual. Tom W7RV usually 599 but was 579 with QSB lower today.

View to the east
SAM_1271

Walking through the sky. Mt Islip where Dan was is right
SAM_1273

Mt Waterman (W6 CT-012) with ski runs visible
SAM_1274

When I got down to the Angeles Crest Highway I drove a short distance to an area with picnic tables, and had a cheese sandwich, potato chips, and a coke. Took this picture of Twin Peaks (W6 CT-064) 7761 ft, and the cone-shaped “Don’t Do It Peak” (aka The Volcano) W6 CT-083 6340 ft.

SAM_1276

After lunch, a young woman flagged me down at the Mt Williamson trailhead as I was passing by. She asked me to give her a lift to Cloudburst Summit so she could avoid the part of the Pacific Crest Trail that had been detoured for environmental reasons (to protect the yellow legged frog). Her name was Serena and she was heading for Canada. I briefed her on the Poodle Dog bush near Mt Pacifico and Mt Gleason, and showed her on her maps how to avoid these regions by taking the USFS roads instead of the PCT. She was very grateful for this information! Dropped her off at the PCT crossing a couple of miles beyond Cloudburst, good luck Serena!

Later as I drove down I descended through the cloud layer which was 2000 feet thick.

73! Hal N6JZT

Leave a Reply

