“Nellie’s Mountain” (Peak 3784 W6 CT-168) and Los Pinetos (F2BM W6 CT-158 4020ft)

I had some funny issues regarding access to Peak 3784 W6 CT-168. Here are the SOTA comments that I made and Dan NA6MG made online:

Access Problems Dec 2014 (this was after my Sierra Pelona hike)
The old access via Diamondback now has some firm No Trespassing signs. Went over to scope out the access via the west ridge, at sign 6808 Escondido Canyon Road (not fenced or signed NT). A nice young woman named Nellie stopped by and asked if she could help me, I explained SOTA to her…it turns out that that land is owned by her grandfather, and they live at the next property along the road to the southwest (with the white gate). She said grandfather would be home in an hour but I said I didn’t want to bother him right now. See Dan NA6MGs comment haha! All OK for the hike now!

UPDATE to access issue
Update on access via 6808 Escondido Canyon Road at mile marker 4.51. I made contact with the property owner of the parcel that is 2 lots to the south, Nellie’s grandfather. He told me that Nellie has been instructed to dupe anyone that she sees in the area into believing that her grandfather owns all the property in the adjacent lots to discourage them from entering. He told me there have been problems with drug users in the area. He also told me that he doesn’t own the adjacent properties and that nobody does. They are for sale. He says that lots of people hike and ride their horses up the trail that starts at 6808 E.C.R. He advised that I park there and go ahead and hike to the summit. So, I did…

Hahaha!

Dan also did a title search on the land and found it is listed as “Vacant”. I don’t know who “owns’ it; often land is taken over by the county when the owner no longer pays property taxes on it. I did see a real estate agent’s “for sale” sign on the vacant property immediately to the right of 6808 Escondido Canyon Road. Some time ago I googled California trespass law: what I found stated that you may not go on land that is fenced or has no trespassing signs spaced every third of a mile. This property has neither fencing nor signs.

Here is the start of the hike at 6808 Escondido Canyone Road. I parked about 50 yards over to the left
SAM_1424

Head up the track, then the ridge leads up to the summit in about a half hour
SAM_1412

Set up on the summit rocks
SAM_1416

Snow Benchmark (W6 CT-121) left center. Magic Mountain right. The USGS National Map digital elevation tool shows that the prominence of Magic Mountain is 4865-4240 = 525 feet (159 meters) and should by rights be a SOTA peak. However peaklist.org lists it as only a 480 ft prominence due to the granularity of the 40 ft contour intervals on the old paper topo maps, so by W6 SOTA rules it is not a SOTA peak. Magic Mountain has the misfortune to have surrounding contours at 4840 feet and 4360 feet. Also, the top has been so heavily excavated over the years for defense and industrial use I am sure it is hard to say what the summit elevation really is nowadays. Some day I would like to ride my bike up there to view the old rocket engine test cells used to test some of the Apollo lunar lander engines back in the day…
SAM_1418

First on 20m, was able to spot via text on cell phone. Set up the 40m dipole extensions, but was getting RF feedback or something, the transceiver was going crazy. So I then set up for 30m as normal. I had tested the antenna at home on 40m with an antenna analyzer, but had not tested it with the HB1B. I was glad to get Dan on 30m so he got his SOTA complete on this one. I got a SOTA complete on this one today too.

20m CW: NG6R AE9F K4MF W0MNA W0ERI KG3W N4MJ W4KRN KB2JWD (FL)
30m CW: K9ZMD K0LAF NA6MG W7CNL NU7A K8TE

I heard W7RV on 30m but he couldn’t hear me. Conditions were odd with very deep QSB. Thanks to all chasers for hearing my weak signal!

Sierra Pelona (W6 CT-116) to the north. Across the 14 Freeway.
SAM_1421

And going down the ridge
SAM_1423

I then drove back over to Sand Canyon to do a drive up activation of W6 CT-158, Fernando 2 Benchmark aka Los Pinetos. My two previous activations are below, so I will only put in one new photo

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/los-pinetos-nike-hercules-site-w6ct-158-aka-fernando-2-benchmark-4020-ft-11-dec-2013/

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2014/07/28/vhf-activation-of-los-pinetos-nike-site-fm2-benchmark-w6-ct-158-4020-ft-28-july-2014/

The peak from Sand Canyon
SAM_1428

2m FM: W6TOD KD6QMS NA6MG KK6QMS
20m CW: W0RW K4MF NG6R WA6KYR K7ZO W0MNA W0WEI K0LAF N4EX W7CNL NS7P
30m CW: W7RV NA6MG

Again, thanks for hearing my weak HF signal!
I heard Charles KM6CEM 22 on 2m, he could not hear me.
The other stations on 2m were very strong, Dan was S9++ on my rubber duck antenna.

Weather was hot and sunny!
73!
Hal
N6JZT

Leave a Reply

