Triunfo Lookout 2658 ft (W6 SC-219) and Pk 1838 (W6 SC-311) 31 October 2015

My right foot is still sore, so I thought I would do some shorter hikes up in the Santa Monica Mountains: Triunfo Lookout and maybe Pk 1838. The latter has been activated only once, by Mike N6MKW.

Drove up the coast in the dark, through Malibu and up Yerba Buena Road. Parked at the turnout and gated fire road pictured in Mike’s blog for Triunfo. Mile marker 8 is about 100 feet up Yerba Buena Road from this turnout. There are some large boulders in front of the gate now too.  Didn’t have a map but thought I had it OK “in my head”. Started at dawn up the fire road which quickly narrowed, then turned left, for reasons I will show a little later. Continued for about a mile, which I felt was too long, then up a use trail to the left. By this point it really seemed like I was hiking the wrong hill and I was correct in my feelings!

On the use trail, which got more and moree obscure, I came across this oak treee with an asphalt platform around it!
SAM_1602

I was pretty sure I was in the wrong place, which was confirmed as I neared the top and could see the bright white concrete structure across the way on the real Triunfo!
SAM_1601

Obviously I did not know the local geography at all well! So I hiked down and back to the jeep. I was actually on the Backbone Trail, which I saw later on the map comes close to where I had parked. So I had an an extra one and a quarter hours of hiking that I had not planned on.

And here is where I had turned left, the correct way goes to the right! Left is a short connector to the Backbone Trail.
SAM_1611

After about 15 minutes take a left and up to the summit in another 5 minutes, with its strange structure looking like a transporter in Star Trek.
SAM_1609

Very nice views at the top
SAM_1603

SAM_1608

Sandstone Peak (W6 CC-056) will be a good one for another day.
SAM_1607

My 2m j-pole developed a loose connection, so I was limited to the rubber duck. Unfortunately Charles KM6CEM could not hear me when I was using this. I told the first callers I was on “CT 219”, since I am so used to the CT prefix. Luckily Scott WA9STI put the right spot out, and I also started giving out SC-219 when I realized my error. Good HF conditions

2m FM: KB6WWI KC6KYO WA9STI NG6R KK6QMS
20m CW: NA6MG WG0AT W4KRN N0DA W5ODS AE5B NE4TN N4EX WA2USA WB5USB WA7SB VE2JCW N8BB ND0C K6TUY VA6FUN W0MNA W4JKC W0ERI WA8REI W7CNL N7SAG KB7HH NO2D NK6A NU7A N0EVH K0JQZ OH9XX
30m CW: W7RV W5ODS K6TUY K0LAF K6HPX

Then about 15 minutes to get down. Though I was a little behind time, and it was getting hot, I thought I would go check out SC-311. My foot wasn’t too sore. Drove over to Decker Road, then down Decker School Road. Note NOT Decker School Lane which I also tried but is wrong!

Start at the Malibu Springs Trail, as in Mike’s blog
SAM_1614

Turn left here at the State Park/National Park boundary
SAM_1627

Views along the way
SAM_1617

Summit rocks about 20 feet off and 6 feet higher than the path. Took 25 minutes to get here.
SAM_1619

Too brushy to set up on the rocks, so set up on the path. Was able to find a little shade
SAM_1621

First on HF, I was lucky and heard N0TA calling CQ from a summit in Colorado. On 2m, heard Patrick KK6KUM on Cucamonga CT-006 but he could not hear me. Jerry NG6R told Patrick I was on, so he moved higher, I moved up to the rocks, and we were able to complete another summit to summit QSO. Thanks Jerry and Patrick! Later from home I worked Patrick again when he was up on Ontario Peak, his third summit of the day.

20m CW: N0TA WA7SB WB5USB ND7PA NG6R K7FO KG0EW VA6FUN WA2USA AE5B AC7P
30m CW: KB7HH W7RV K6TUY W5ODS N7BHP AE9F W4NJK
2m FM: NG6R KK6KUM

Then a hike down in the heat. This obscure little peak I found to be quite a pleasant hike and activation. There is a nice feeling of remoteness on Pk 1838, I don’t think too many people come this way.

What are those antennas for?
SAM_1625

Sandstone Peak and Triunfo Lookout
SAM_1626

That evening my foot was not sore so maybe the hike was good for it…

Thank you chasers!
73!
Hal N6JZT

3 Comments Add yours

  1. orders426 says:

    Had my beam pointed to @ Temecula thinking you were on a peak down there. Working you off the back no wonder it was so scratchy! Oops. 73- Clifford

    1. hal90505 says:

      Yep. was wondering why you had pointed to the east! 🙂

Leave a Reply

