Occidental Peak (W6 CT-098) 5732 ft, 17 January 2016

Another hike to Occidental Peak near Mt Wilson. Previous accounts here so I will not add too many photos on this post.

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2015/01/05/first-hike-of-the-new-year-occidental-peak-w6-ct-098-5732-ft-5-january-2015/

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2014/01/05/a-nice-walk-to-occidental-peak-5732-ft-w6-ct-098-4-january-2014/

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/occidental-peak-w6ct-098-and-mt-wilson-4-may-2013/

Today was a holiday weekend (Martin Luther King birthday). So there seemed to be a lot of cars heading up Angeles Crest Highway even at 0730. Going to ski and play in the snow around Mt Waterman I guess. There was a California Highway Patrol officer stationed a few miles up looking like he was there to intimidate drivers into slowing down; I hope he had some effect since everyone seemed to want to go fast and pass me. He looked like a classic “Smokey” (i.e.  Smokey the Bear)- big hat, mustache, immaculate uniform – the works! Wish I had a photo!

A 45 minute walk from the big antenna tower entrance to the summit of Occidental. The 45 minute hike always seems harder than it “should” be because it is quite rocky in places and goes up and down a lot.

A little snow. Not a good hike to do if it were covered in snow since much of the hike traverses a steep slope.

SAM_1722

Hung the 2 meter j pole on a bush, and set up the HF dipole

 

Started on 2m FM, then 20m and at the end back to 2m. Conditions were good. When I got home I found that the RBN spotter had not seemed to be working so thanks to the chasers who heard me right away on 20m!

20m CW: K0JQZKG3W W6UB AC1Z N4EX W4DOW AE5B NG6R KI8RN NK6A NE4TN W0MNA W0ERI KT5X K0LAF WA9STI NU7A K4MF AD5A N1EU KD5KC S2S W5T DE020

2m FM: KB6WWI W6KLE K6WSJ KF6HMX KK6WMD KI6PMD KD6MHS WD6PQK

 

Throop Peak W6 CT-005 on the left, Mt Baldy W6 CT-003) on the right. There is a lot of snow in the high country.

SAM_1724

The temperature was about 50F (10C) and I was overdressed in wool. But I wore it because I figured I would be sitting for an hour. But it was sunny so I was warm and I got too hot on the return!

On the drive down the Mt Wilson Road I saw that the service road to Mt Disappointment had not been plowed, so it was icy and some kids were playing on it.

 

73! Hal N6JZT

Leave a Reply

