Serendipity on Kratka Ridge (W6 CT-014) 7515 ft, 30 January 2016

I like to hike Kratka in the winter; it is an easy snow hike. This year there is at least some snow, it snowed three weeks ago but we have had some warm days since. It is supposed to snow tomorrow too.

On the drive up, I stopped at Newcomb’s Ranch for a big breakfast; I saved some hash browns, toast bacon and ham for lunch!

Then up to the start of the hike. As I pulled over to park, a Jeep pulled up behind me and it was Dan NA6MG!  He had decided to come up too! So that was cool to be doing a joint activation instead of alone.

Dan NA6MG on the way up. The temperature was about 42F (5C), not too cold, but with a little breeze too. The snow was in good shape for walking.

SAM_1725

 

And me….I had brought an ice ax and crampons but did not need them

SAM_1727

 

Got to the top, Dan set up for HF. I set up for VHF with my 2m j-pole hanging in a tree at the summit. Dan started on 17m…after a few QSOs Jerry NG6R told me that the VP8 South Georgia DXpedition was on, and people in the pile-up were calling the VP8 on Dan’s frequency, so I went and told Dan and he went to 15m.

2m FM was active, but only worked one Winter Field Day station.

2m FM: KM6CEM K6MUG KX6A N6WMG KF6LYF NG6R K7LGM KE6LB N6JXE KK6UPD KI6ZZC KK6URX K6QCB K7WYV KK6SMD KI6PMD KE6EMQ KI6WLP W6GLC

Michael KX6A and his son Will N6WMG are new SOTA activators and chasers. Welcome!

Dan on HF

SAM_1729

 

Twin Peaks (W6 CT-064) from where I was operating. You can see we did not have to sit on snow.

SAM_1730

 

Later we moved down the mountain a little to the picnic table and looked for activity in the ARRL VHF contest. We heard none on VHF or UHF FM. Here is Dan figuring out how to remove the repeater split that Yaesu puts in at the UHF simplex calling frequency. Ski lift has been closed since 2001. Back in the day, Kratka was my favorite ski area.

SAM_1732

 

Then we had a nice hike down the mountain. Dan headed back to the west, I drove a little way east to a viewpoint where I finished my breakfast for lunch!

73! Hal N6JZT

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michael KX6A says:

    Great to work you on 2 meters this morning. Thanks for the trip report.

  2. MWGblog says:

    Great to work you on 2 meters. Thanks for the activation report.

Leave a Reply

