Josephine Peak by Bike(W6 CT-025) 5558 ft, 20 April 2016

I am recovering from an upper respiratory virus, which I have had for four weeks now. I guess you can call it a “cold” if you like but after four weeks I have had enough! So I thought I would get out and go up a mountain since I am not coughing too badly. The trail head for Josephine is at Clear Creek on the Angeles Crest Highway, only about an hour’s drive from my house.

Got to Clear Creek around 0530 and had some coffee, then set off on the bike at about 0600. Pushed it almost all the way since my cardio/respiratory systems are not fit. About 4 miles and 1900 feet elevation gain, took two hours and ten minutes. The road was mostly good, but there were some rough places that seemed like a stream bed, I hope they grade the road before too long. I was feeling pretty weak the last half hour or so.

The USFS tower and webcam have been decommisioned, I don’t know why.  Bryan N0BCB installed the camera a few years ago. Mt Lukens to the right.

SAM_1779

Set up the HF dipole and 2m J-pole, heard Dan NA6MG and Charles KM6CEM talking on 2m, so called them when I was set up. Then after 2m FM QSYed to 20m then 30m.

2m FM: NA6MG KM6CEM AF6GD KX6A KB6CIO AD6RO N6HEG WB6BFG

20m CW: W0MNA K4MF W0ERI W4KRN NU7A NA6MG WB0WQS NG6R N4EX WA2USA NS7P VE6UX W4DOW K5EW ND0C K0HNC K7TQ N7WM NK6A KG3W

30m CW: KX0R K7TQ N7BHP

Left the bike back at the helipad below the summit

SAM_1780

 

Strawberry Peak from Josephine Saddle

SAM_1781

 

Headed down. Downtown Los Angeles visible once I got to Josephine Saddle

SAM_1782

 

Strawberry Peak, and Mt Lawlor to the right

SAM_1783

 

The ride down took only half a hour

SAM_1786

 

As I rode down, met a cyclist riding up, and also a big Civilian Conservation Corps SUV…We said good morning to each other, I am sure they had a bumpy ride. About 100 yards from the bottom I noticed the rear bike tire was flat, so I walked the bike the rest of the way and then the short distance to the car.

When I got home, I had a look at the rear tube and noticed it was leaking in several spots…on the REI website I read this was probably due to the tire being under inflated, which it had been, the front tire was only 14 psi when I put the pressure gauge on it! Experimenting with the front tire I found that with the little hand pump I carry on the bike I could get the front tire to 35 psi, I really want to get it above 40psi. Since I have never put the pressure gauge on the tires before, just judging by squeezing the tires whether I had “enough” pressure., I am sure I have always under inflated them. So now I know!

73! Hal N6JZT

Leave a Reply

