Mt Baden Powell (W6 CT-004) 9399 ft, 26 August 2016

Previous activations:

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2015/08/13/mt-baden-powell-w6-ct-004-9399-ft-12-august-2015/

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2013/08/17/mt-baden-powell-w6ct-004-9400-ft-16-august-2013/

A nice hike to try and get my high altitude fitness back. Most of the last month has been walking at fairly low altitudes. And I did feel the effects of altitude on the hike! 4.3 miles each way, 1800 feet up on ascent (2 hrs 35 min) and 300 feet up on return (2 hrs)

Note the dead brown needles on the tree…due to 5 years of drought

SAM_2124

I have just built a new EFHW tuner (from QRPkits.com). It seems to work fine with low VSWR, but I still needed to add a new connector for the end of the antenna so I decided just to make a light weight VHF activation today. I will try an activation with the new tuner next time. It has a built in SWR bridge with a tuning LED which dims when the SWR is low…very clever.

SAM_2127.JPG

Worked Charles KM6CEM first.

2m FM: KM6CEM KJ6TOA W6WW KI6AFZ KJ6OTJ N6HEG KM6CMF KK6MRH NA6MG KM6CXN KK6FR KJ6BGS KG6HQD WB6AZB KB6WWI

Gustavo KM6CXN is a new ham, he was out for a walk on his break, I think this may have been his first QSO. He said he had not heard anyone on the 2m simplex channel before. KG6HQD was on his way to Thomas Mountain, I called him from time to time to see if he was on the summit yet but no response…when I got home I saw that he came on the air from the Thomas about 10 minutes after I left the summit of Baden Powell..I had been up there an hour and 20 minutes and wanted to start the hike down.

SAM_2129

 

Mt Burnham to the left, Baden Powell to the right, from Throop Peak ridge.

SAM_2130

 

73!  Hal N6JZT

Leave a Reply

