East Twin Peaks, a Long Hike (W6 CT-064) 31 August 2016

I thought that Twin would be a good hike to continue to get back in shape. Dan NA6MG had been wanting to do it too, so we decided to do it together. I told him I would start at 0530 by headlamp, and that he might want to start a little after me since he prefers to hike when it is light and he would catch up since he is a faster hiker than me.

Previous activation 3 years ago:

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2013/08/10/10-miles-on-twin-peaks-w6-ct-064-7800-ft-9-august-2013/

I arrived in the dark 0515 at Buckhorn picnic area, had some coffee and a banana, and finally set off by headlamp at 0545. I only needed the headlamp for about 15 or 20 minutes. At about 0610 I called Dan on the HT, he was in his Jeep and would be starting in a few minutes. So I continued the hike up to the shoulder of Waterman (7733 ft, starting at 6762 ft) where I cached a pint of water. This took an hour, then 1200 ft down to Twin Peaks Saddle which took 50 minutes.

Looking up to Twin, approaching the saddle

SAM_2132

Down at the saddle I cached two pints (1 litre) of water, and the sure enough Dan showed up so he had caught up! He cached some water too. Then a climb of another 1200 feet up to 7760 ft East Twin, I have never bothered to go over to West Twin, it is lower and does not seem worth the effort. Total hike time was 3 hours 10 minutes.

Dan and I set up our stations. Dan is on the other side of those boulders

SAM_2136

I called Charles KM6CEM on 2m, made some more FM QSOs, then went on 20m, using my new EFHW tuner from QRPkits.com. Dan was on 40m 7032 and I found I could easily avoid his second harmonic by setting my frequency to 14058. I had pre-programmed my callsign in the HB1B’s memory, so I pushed the button to send automatic CQs. The RBN spotter must have picked me up right away because W0MNA and others called me almost immediately.

2m FM: KM6CEM KB6WWI KX6A N6HEG WB6POJ WC6Q WB6FYR

20m CW: W0MNA W0ERI WW7D N4MJ VE2JCW AK5SD NG6R WB0KIU W9MRH K4MF NS7P K7NEW K8TE W4HBK W4KRN

30m CW: K6TUY K1JD WA7SB

Dan operated on 40m, then 20m, and finally he went on 2m and talked with Charles and also Eric N6HEG

Dan getting his HT ready for 2m

SAM_2137

Kratka Ridge (W6 CT-014) in the middle distance, Mt Williamson (Previously W6 CT-011, now W6 CT-247) further away.

SAM_2140

After enjoying the view, we set off with some reluctance, knowing that the 1200 foot climb up Waterman lay ahead of us. So…down 1200 feet back to the saddle, where we each drank a pint of water and picked up the other water we had cached. Then a slow slog uphill, stopping after 45 minutes for another water break. We both felt that the time went by more quickly than in the past on this slow up hill section, because we had someone to talk to this time instead of just being alone with our thoughts! After an hour and a quarter we reached the sign at the Waterman turn off, which was the end of the up hill and the beginning of the down hill. So here we had more water and also something to eat. Then the nice hike down

Looking back towards Twin on the hike down

SAM_2141.JPG

Including breaks, it took 3 hours to get from the summit of Twin back to the start. When we reached the base, Dan headed out, I spent some time at the picnic table drinking a coke and eating potato chips and a peanut butter sandwich. Then headed out too, after spending a nice day on the mountain.

73! Hal N6JZT

Leave a Reply

