Mt Williamson With Heavy Radio Gear (W6 CT-247) 8248 ft, 13 December 2016

Many previous activations of this peak, as CT-011 then CT-247. Here is one!

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2015/06/03/another-beautiful-day-walking-in-the-sky-mt-williamson-w6-ct-011-8248-ft-3-june-2015/

Williamson is  one of my favorites, and did it now in early winter and picked up 3 winter bonus points. I took my heavy SSB gear: IC706 and 3 kilo LiPo battery so I could run 50 watts. The weight was OK on the hike up.

Temperature at Islip Saddle was about 40F, 4C.

A nice day for hiking

dscn0243

Feeling quite warm (with some sun) with my wool clothes on, but on the ridge I hit the wind and it felt much cooler

Set up out of the wind just below the summit, quite pleasant in the sun.

dscn0248

Not too much on 2m FM, lots of 20m SSB. Not long after I started I noticed that some of the antenna wire was touching the shrubs so readjusted! Had a nice rag chew with Everett N0AIE in South Dakota who used to live in my area of Southern California 50 years ago.

2m FM: KB6WWI NG6R KM6CEM

20m SSB: ND0C NK6A N4EX W0MNA WA2USA NE4TN KF7JQV K0LAF WG0AT (S2S)  NS7P KA9BBQ K6QCB W4DOW K3JZD N0AIE WB7ULD W5DXS W5GAI WA9STI

On the walk down, the weight of the battery and radio felt much heavier, and when out of the wind felt very hot!

dscn0249

73! Hal N6JZT

Leave a Reply

