Yerba Buena Ridge After Christmas (W6 CT-163) 3892 ft 28 December 2016

Previous activation:

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2014/11/29/mountain-friday-yerba-buena-ridge-w6-ct-163-3892-ft-28-november-2014/

A few nice sunny and warm days  after Christmas; I wanted to get out on a hike before more rain would be coming in. I had enjoyed Yerba Buena Rudge two years ago, so I thought I would hike it again.

The first 2.4 miles of the hike from Gold Creek Canyon Road is a nicely graded and pleasant trail mainly through oak and chaparral.

dscn0250

Then a dirt fire road for the last 1.7 miles. I found this road a little tedious.

dscn0251

Took 2 hours 10  minutes to the top Last time I set up on this pile of boulders. A snowy Mt Baldy in the far distance

dscn0253

This time I set up by the water tank. My ruck sack did not hold the mast very well! Operation on 40m was awkward because I had to hold the mast more vertical with one hand while sending on the morse key so the wire antenna would not touch the ground!

dscn0252

20m CW: WG0AT ZL1BYZ NK6A N1GB W0MNA W0ERI K4MF W9MRH NO2D N4DA NG6R N4EX

40m CW: KE6WYA NS7P W7RV KB7HH K6TUY K7ODX K1LB

Snow on Mt Gleason (W6 CT-017)

dscn0255

By now (1030 local time) it was getting rather warm (60F/16C), so I had a warm hike down with my wool shirt in the intense sunshine.

New sign where the trail meets the fire road

dscn0258

A good hike this winter day!

73! Hal N6JZT

Leave a Reply

