New Year’s Day Hike to Hoyt Mountain (W6 CT-146) 4404ft, 1 January 2017

I think this is my 5th hike of Hoyt Mountain. The weather forecast was nice for New Year’s day, but cloudy and rainy after that. There had been snow during the night so I wanted to see if there was any on Hoyt at 4400 ft.

My first activation here:  https://halssota.wordpress.com/2013/04/06/hoyt-mountain-w6ct-146/

The trail head is a quick one hour drive from my house.Traffic was light up the freeways and Angeles Crest Highway, reached the trail head at about 0930. The usual steep hike up. Increasing clouds this sunny day

dscn0264

Yes there was a little bit of snow. I could see much more on Strawberry peak above the 5500 ft level.

dscn0265

At the top, with snow on this desert peak

dscn0266

I set up for 2m and HF, called on 2m FM but no activity then, later heard Charles KM6CEM but he could not hear me. Operated on 20m CW mainly. A few CQs on 40m but no takers so I shut down before the top was enveloped in cloud

20m CW: WA7SB W0MNA WW7D W0ERI W6TDX VE2JCW N1GB N4DA N4EX K7FO NS7P KA5PVB KD3CA NU7A

Clouds coming

dscn0267

Descending towards Strawberry Peak

dscn0269

Looking back from the saddle

dscn0270

As i went down the final steep section to the road I could hear many cars going by in the fog. As I reached my Jeep I saw that there were loads of cars going up, no doubt to venture to play in the snow at higher altitude. On the way down I heard on the radio that the Mt Baldy road was also jammed with cars going up to the snow. I will go higher another day when the crowds have dissipated.

73! Hal N6JZT

 

Leave a Reply

