Brisk Morning on Mt Lewis (W6 CT-246) 8396 ft, 29 April 2017

Weather forecast sunny, cold windy. And yes it was when I arrived at Dawson Saddle: 27F/-3C. The road had been opened just the day before, having been closed for the winter. A lot of rocks had been blown down onto the road by the wind, but it was OK with care.

Because the hike is short with only 500ft/150m of elevation gain, I brought the heavy IC706 and Li battery so I could operate high power 2m FM and HF SSB.

Previous activations:  https://halssota.wordpress.com/2016/12/09/early-winter-on-mt-lewis-w6-ct-246-8396-ft-8-december-2016/

https://halssota.wordpress.com/2016/06/11/mt-lewis-w6-ct-246-8396-ft-and-winston-peak-7502-ft-10-june-2016/

I last activated this peak for 3 point winter bonus with Dan NA6MG in December 2016

Nice and quick hike up, cold, sun and wind made it feel like autumn, though of course it is spring now. No snow here, but quite a lot across the way on Throop Peak, as much as when Dan and I hiked it in December

DSCN0393

Set up the 2m j-pole and 20m dipole. I noticed the latter took much longer to set up than my (low power) end-fed half-wave.

DSCN0391

I managed to stay out of the wind, and was wearing wool long johns and a wool shirt and 3 more layers. So I kept warm enough. Logging was difficult with my clumsy ski gloves, I should have used my wool gloves like usual.

I started on FM, calling on the W6HA Hughes Aircraft repeater. Eric N6HEG came back and spotted me for 2m simplex, and also at various times for 20m SSB on 14347 kHz. Thanks Eric! KM6CEM and VA6FUN spotted me too.

I hung out on SSB for about an hour, did not go to CW, I listened around 14060 there seemed to be a Japanese contest on. I used 25W on 2m and UHF and 50W on HF, with the 20Ah Li battery.

2m FM: N6HEG KM6CEM NG6R

20m SSB: W0MNA N1GB VA6FUN WA2USA VA2MO W5KBY N5ZC W5GAI NG6R KZ7ZZ W3TSR WQ0N KD0YOB

All and all a nice time on the mountain in the sunny cold weather. Glad it was not cloudy, the sun kept things tolerable. Back at the car it was about 36F/2C when I returned.

73! Hal N6JZT

Leave a Reply

