Long Drive on Angeles Crest Highway: Circle Mountain (W6 CT-071) 6900 ft 27 May 2017

Dan NA6MG and I linked up driving our Jeeps on the Angeles Crest Highway, keeping in commo on 2m FM. We drove pretty much the whole length of the road from La Canada in the west to Wrightwood in the east. I think the last time I was in Wrightwood was when I used to go night skiing at Mountain High ski area back in the lates 80s.We parked at the saddle on Lone Pine Canyon Road, and then a hike of about 900 feet elevation gain. Sandy, grassy hiking, not a pretty summit since it has been burned over.

Dan on 17m and 15m

DSCN0417

I started on 20m CW. Took a while to work 4 stations in the WPX contest, then better on 30m and 40m. I ran 3 or 4 watts with the HB1B and EFHW antenna

A little snow still on Mt Baldy

DSCN0418

20m CW:K6NR NH7A NU5A WQ6X

30m CW: K6MW W0MNA K6EL KX0R KB7HH W0ERI K6HPX NU7A

40m CW: WA7JTM W6WW W7USA AA7DK

2m FM: KN6CCW

Dan and I both worked Ken KN6CCW who we had not heard in about a year, nice to catch up with him

Mt San Jacinto in the distance, near Palm Springs

DSCN0419

A few trees, looking towards Palmdale to the north

DSCN0420

Heading back down

DSCN0421

This had been a new summit for me, had never hiked Circle Mountain before. We then drove back along the ACH through Wrightwood and to Table Mountain, W6 CT-067. I hiked the quarter mile up the road from the parking lot, Dan hiked through the grass. I set up my Li battery and IC706 hoping to get some voice SSB contacts, but there was almost no SSB activity on 20m and the noise level was S5, so just worked some WPX contest stations. Dan was more successful working chasers CW on 15m, 17m and 40m

20m CW: K5WA VE7NY KE0EK N7QT WT7S WJ9B KU6F

I headed back a little earlier than Dan, who was working 40m. We met up again at Dawson Saddle near Mt Lewis and Throop Peak where I enjoyed some home made soup my wife had made.

A long drive, about 100 miles each way. I was tired when I got home!

73! Hal N6JZT

Leave a Reply

